Flower Cakes!

30 Jan

Wow!  Has it really been since November since I’ve last posted?  Obviously I missed all the “big” blogging topics- Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Years, and my bday.  Arrrggg.

The last few months have been challenging technology wise.  My car decided to run into a pole covered in concrete… in a parking lot, while going five miles an hour.  Then, my phone decided to be naughty by not letting the other person hear my voice.  My MacBook thought having a fuzzy grey bar down the middle was a great design choice.  Notsomuch. 

Technology and I are building trust again, but I still have one eye open just in case.

Well, besides all these hiccups, I can say the last few months have been truly sublime.  I feel like such a happy girl that I often want to pinch myself!  More on that later, but for now here’s a bunch of photos of things I’ve made recently.

We had to make a two tiered wedding cake out of fondant and include any type of flowers.  The cake is enrobed in white fondant (for some reason it looks pink in some of the pictures) and has white and blush-pink flowers. There is also a silver chevron pattern on the bottom and tiny white, blush and silver balls around it.

I LOVED making flowers.

 I think mine turned out so beautiful and realistic.  It was very time consuming- I wanted them to look REAL and the only way to do that was to have super thin petals.

The flowers dry out over time, but the petals are flimsy and slightly sticky and ooohhhh so fragile when you’re working with them.

 I kinda feel like fondant and I are best friends.

Here are more fondant flowers, just a different technique.  Each person seriously made like 40 flowers by hand this day.  They kinda look like molds, or cutouts, but trust me, they are not.  I was inspired by this and this … both images I saw on Pinterest.

Okay, well I know these are only two things but I’ve got to run! I plan on getting everything up within the next week or so. 

See ya later alligators!

♥ Heather

5 Responses to “Flower Cakes!”

  1. Abigail March 23, 2012 at 11:02 PM #

    Your flowers are AMAZING. They really do look real, not just the shape and thinness of the petals, but the gradient coloring of them!

    • yummyshebaked June 5, 2012 at 2:10 AM #

      Ah! Thank you Abigail! I can’t wait till I’m at the level where I can make these quickly haha

  2. Cakewhiz May 27, 2012 at 8:03 PM #

    I love playing with fondant too and decorating cakes has become somewhat of an obsession…hehe. Both of your cakes are gorgeous!

    • yummyshebaked June 5, 2012 at 2:08 AM #

      Thank you so much! It is SO much fun… I feel like time is easily lost doing the smallest things:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chim chimney, chim chimney, chim chim cheroo! I does what I likes and I likes what I do! « YummySheBaked - July 12, 2012

    [...] was my room.  I’ve been sorta obsessed with the chevron pattern for awhile now.  Remember this cake?  It had a small chevron on the base.  Anyways, thanks to Pinterest I’ve been obsessing [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.